Music / TV

The National on the Game of Thrones S2 soundtrack

The soundtrack to the second season of HBO’s Game of Thrones has been promised for several months now, and since a Lannister always pays his debts, it’s now been confirmed that the album will drop on 19 June 2012.

Composer Ramin Djawadi has roped in the services of the Czech Film Orchestra and Choir for the instrumental bits and, in what’s shaped up to be an indie kid’s wet dream, Brooklyn rock act The National for one exclusive song. Listen after the drop.

The band have already recorded The Rains of Castomere, written by Djawadi himself, whose title is taken from some fairly deep nerd mythology rooted in George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire novels. That’s as much detail as I can offer, I’m afraid. Here is is:

The track lands a Dothraki blade squarely in that elusive but vital crossover demographic between indie and nerd, more than satisfying both markets.

Game of Thrones was renewed for a third season just nine days after the second season premiere aired on 1 April 2012.

Full album track listing:

1. Main Title
2. The Throne Is Mine
3. What Is Dead May Never Die
4. Warrior Of Light
5. Valar Morghulis
6. Winterfell
7. Qarth
8. Wildfire
9. I Am Hers, She Is Mine
10. Pyat Pree
11. Don’t Die With A Clean Sword
12. We Are The Watchers On The Wall
13. Pay The Iron Price
14. One More Drink Before The War
15. House Of The Undying
16. Stand And Fight
17. The Old Gods And The New
18. Mother Of Dragons
19. I Will Keep You Safe
20. The Rains Of Castomere (Written by Ramin Djawadi and George R.R. Martin, performed by The National)
21. Three Blasts


Huntress Thompson

In the vacuum between dark and light, Siouxsie Sioux and Emmylou Harris, Amelie and Travis Bickle, Huntress Thompson is an idiot lost, and reporting from the field. If you’re after irrational, impassioned rants about cupcakes and Johnny Cash (and you probably aren’t), she’s grumpy, but she’s your girl.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s