Music

Rock FM 91.9 – go on, go find it

RockFM_BG

I’ve never been a big fan of radio, preferring to chill out to a favourite copy of The Foos or shuffle through my itunes, depending on my mood.

For a while, I spent my morning and afternoon drives listening to 5FM. Gareth Cliff’s snarky wit and Fresh’s contagious laugh were always entertaining enough to get me through the traffic.

A few months ago, purely by chance, I stumbled across a radio station that I’d never heard before. Always willing to give something a chance, I stuck with it – and surprisingly, I haven’t tuned in to anything else since. If you aren’t in to most of the commercial hogwash that fills the airwaves these days, and prefer good, old fashioned rock ‘n’ roll, then Rock FM 91.9 is for you.

Playing everything from classic Queen to The Buggles, I haven’t yet heard a tune that made me want to change the station. Best of all, you don’t have to spend most of your time listening to promotional gimmicks and competitions and the DJs keep their airtime to a minimum, making it all about the music.

Admittedly, there are some downfalls – move in any direction away from 91.9 and you lose the signal. Often, my connection to the station isn’t the greatest either. Still, if you’re tired of having to listen to twenty crap songs, just to hear one that you like, Rock FM is for you.

Find them on facebook here.


Deanna Campbell

Deanna spends her days buried in a jumble of words and her nights trying to balance family life and everything in between, all while doodling the name Grohl on her notepad and watching reruns of Supernatural. If it’s on TV, she’s seen it. If it’s the latest fad diet… she’s tried it. She’s got a lot to say.

Be warned.

Leave a Reply

