Art / Lifestyle

Review: Fifty Shades of Grey

By Deanna Campbell
 
I have to admit, I’m a sucker for following trends – at least with books that is. Chances are, if it’s being talked about, I’ll read it. I credit this constant need to know with introducing me to the amazing world of Harry Potter and having me spend weekends wanting to claw my eyes out trying to get through the Twilight series. See, that’s my problem, if I start it, it must be finished.
 

 
Which is why I currently find myself knee deep in the third installment of the Fifty Shades trilogy. Sex on paper, sure – why not, it’s pretty much an everyday thing for a young working mum right? Now, shall I regale you with tales of how I’ve had to slouch on my airplane seat and cover half of my kindle with a blanket just so my poor unsuspecting mother doesn’t glimpse a word of what I’m reading and wonder what really goes on in her oh-so-polite daughter’s mind? Or how I’m glad my son is just shy of two and isn’t able to make sense of words yet just in case he stumbles across my current guilty pleasure lying around?

 
If I’m going to be honest, Fifty Shades of Grey isn’t a great book. Nevertheless I read it in about three sittings with a somehow incomprehensible inability to put it down. Would I suffer the wrath of feminists everywhere when I suggest that a book focused on the relationship between a young inexperienced college graduate and an eligible millionaire bachelor who has a secret fancy for whips, chains and other S&M related paraphernalia is incredibly empowering? I mean, let’s be honest, how often is it ok for women to spend their days engrossed in something that focuses so heavily on their satisfaction and pleasure? I’ve grown up knowing full well about the Playboys and Hustlers out there – not so much about anything designed for the fairer sex. Enter Christian Grey.
 
Never before has a troubled damaged protagonist been so appealing. EL James knew exactly which buttons to push. Give a girl a man that needs fixing and you can bet your high horse she’ll give it a try. But, what the British author did differently was give us a man who not only needed fixing, but wanted to tie you up and spank you while you tried. Too far? Oh, I’m just getting started.
 

 
I’ve read some interesting articles on the web since finishing Fifty Shades – how the books can be credited with giving marriages everywhere a little jolt in the right direction and how twenty years from now there are going to be a whole lot of kids born thanks to the Fifty Shades phenomenon. Believe it – I really and truly can.
 
Never before have I felt this empowered by my sexuality and my needs. Never before have I been this unafraid to discuss them with my significant other. Never before have I felt this adventurous.
 
You could judge me for crediting all of this to a simple book, but then, you probably haven’t read it yet. Do. If only for the chance to see if it will change anything in your life. If only for the thrill of knowing that you’re reading something you wouldn’t want your kids to see.
 
I guess what I’m getting at is that, while Fifty Shades of Grey isn’t a great book by any stretch of the imagination, stretch your imagination it does, to places you never even guessed it would go. Ladies, it’s time to celebrate your sexuality – go on, do it… you know you want to.
 


Deanna Campbell

Deanna spends her days buried in a jumble of words and her nights trying to balance family life and everything in between, all while doodling the name Grohl on her notepad and watching reruns of Supernatural. If it’s on TV, she’s seen it. If it’s the latest fad diet… she’s tried it. She’s got a lot to say.

Be warned.

One thought on “Review: Fifty Shades of Grey

  1. Pingback: Why I love my Kindle | VTTH

Leave a Reply

