Lifestyle

Why I love my Kindle

By Deanna Campbell

I’m a Kindle convert – there, I said it. Not very long ago I recall getting into a heated debate about why I’d never go there. Don’t people get it, books are all about the feel of the paper in your hands. There’s very little that could beat a well-worn book on an aging bookshelf that holds years of memories in its pages.

Turns out I was wrong. Well, not completely. There really is nothing that can come close to the feel of a book in your hand, the memories that come to mind when re-reading a book ten years later to find places and watermarks you’d made the very first time you read it eons ago.

Still, I couldn’t stop hearing about Amazon’s kindle, and you know me – if it’s being talked about, I’ll give it a try (see Fifty Shades of Grey). So I went to the store and bought one. And the rest, as they say, is just a few words on paper.

I may be just a little addicted. Here’s why.

  • I can read again. Allow me to elaborate. I’ve always loved reading, ever since I learnt how. I used to spend a lot of time reading… and then I had a kid. I love my kid. So much so that reading’s taken a back seat to everything else going on in my life. In the almost two years since my son’s been born I’ve read the grand total of about two books – I’m pretty sure I didn’t finish the last one. Embarassing for a book lover, I know.
    Thing is, there’s just no time. I used to love curling up in bed at the end of a long day with a good book. Now I love curling up in bed at the end of a long day to sleep. And then I got a Kindle. Never before has reading been so convenient. I read in my lunch breaks. I read while at the post office in a queue. Last week, I even got a few pages in while I was getting petrol filled in my car. Enough said.
  • My Kindle weighs about the same as my purse… you’d think this would say a lot about the contents of my purse, except you haven’t felt how light a Kindle is. It fits in my handbag, which means I take it everywhere…, since I’ve got it, I’ve never been without it…attached much.
  • Buy buy buy. Perhaps this is as much a negative as positive but with the ability to buy just about any book at just about any time comes great responsibility. (See what I did there?) How many times have you heard about a great book and thought, “wow I definitely have to get my hands on that” and then two weeks later, at the book store, you have no clue what the book was called. Not anymore. Now you can get any book as soon as you hear about it. A book to match your every mood. Great for your mind, not so great for your wallet.
    Kindle books are not pricey, on their own. But, if you’re like me and are slightly over eager, you may just end up buying three in a day, every other day or so. Before you know it, you’ve spent way more than you intended too. Ground rules need to be set – I’m working on it.

So, what I’m trying to say book lovers, is that you should get a Kindle. Even if it feels a little bit like you’re selling out… do it. Go on.


Deanna Campbell

Deanna spends her days buried in a jumble of words and her nights trying to balance family life and everything in between, all while doodling the name Grohl on her notepad and watching reruns of Supernatural. If it’s on TV, she’s seen it. If it’s the latest fad diet… she’s tried it. She’s got a lot to say.

Be warned.

One thought on “Why I love my Kindle

  1. Pingback: Awesome this week in books | VTTH

Leave a Reply

