Lifestyle

The 17 Day Diet: Day 1

By Deanna Campbell

I woke up this morning feeling positive about change. Change is good. In fact, change is great when you’re broke and find a R1 coin stuffed underneath your couch cushion… I digress…

6:50am: I’m in the process of packing all my meals for the work day. Trust me, this is the only way to avoid the temptation of the office vending machine… or the month old chocolate you have in your desk drawer. While getting my yoghurt out of the fridge, I catch a fleeting glimpse of the last slice of cake. It’s painful. (I spent my weekend eating everything bad in my house so that there wouldn’t be anything to tempt me come Monday… all in the name of research)

11:30am:  I spent two hours thinking about my yoghurt. Ok, that’s not entirely true – I spent two hours thinking about buttery toast heaped with jam – same principle. The yoghurt’s gone. I’m snacking on carrot (Oh God, am I turning into one of those girls?). Perhaps this won’t be that bad…

12:30pm: I’m aiming for five hours between meals… I hear this is ideal. This of course means, that like clockwork, at 12:30, my tummy sounds like a freight train’s running through it. Try masking those sounds while in a meeting – go on, I dare you…

13:07pm I’ve inhaled my lunch. My mind is willing me to go downstairs to the canteen and get something… no mind no, you will not win this war…

15:00pm So far so good. Granted, it’s easy to follow the rules when all you have around you is what you pre-packed. Getting home is the problem.

Home is where the Tinkies are.

Home is where the couch is, the same couch I’ll be on in 3 hours trying to convince myself to go to gym.

And so it begins…


Deanna Campbell

Deanna spends her days buried in a jumble of words and her nights trying to balance family life and everything in between, all while doodling the name Grohl on her notepad and watching reruns of Supernatural. If it’s on TV, she’s seen it. If it’s the latest fad diet… she’s tried it. She’s got a lot to say. Be warned.

Leave a Reply

