Lifestyle

The 17 Day Diet: Day 3

By Deanna Campbell

I made the mistake of weighing myself yesterday. I mean, who goes on a diet without checking what they weigh first. Turns out, I should have listened to my instincts. Seems I’ve somehow managed to gain the weight of a mini hippo over the last 4 weeks. That’s one thing that can turn any day into a shithole.

And of course, I’m a total emotional eater. Shithole days = face in cake. But yesterday, I held my ground. You’d be proud. All I ate after my discovery was a few viennas. Now…before you go shaking your finger at me, I know they’re not healthy. Still, they beat slices of bread drenched in butter. Oh dear dear bread, how I miss you so.


I’ve figured out that my biggest problem is the space of time after work and before dinner. I get hungry. Very very hungry. Usually, that equals packets of chips and biscuits. The last few days I’ve tried to curb the cravings somewhat by eating viennas and any kind of protein I can find. All hail biltong.

I haven’t dared to weigh myself since yesterday, I doubt much can change in a day anyway. Come Friday morning, I’ll brave the beast and get on that scale again.

Crossing fingers…


Deanna Campbell

Deanna spends her days buried in a jumble of words and her nights trying to balance family life and everything in between, all while doodling the name Grohl on her notepad and watching reruns of Supernatural. If it’s on TV, she’s seen it. If it’s the latest fad diet… she’s tried it. She’s got a lot to say. Be warned.

Leave a Reply

