Music

The Songwriter Playlists: David Ramirez

David Ramirez’s latest album, Apologies, is out this week!

He answered some of The Vandals’ questions on Monday, and he was kind enough to add a little mixtape to The Songwriter Playlists, with some of his own song picks.

Bob Dylan – Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right

“I get so much heartbreak and so much peace all at the same time with this tune. It’s so spiteful and yet still so filled with love.”

 

Gregory Alan Isokov – Master and a Hound

“Rarely will you find a prettier melody and such wonderful imagery. I’m not sure if this is a song about love, but when I listen to it I long for it to be.”

 

Radiohead – Fake Plastic Trees

“This is one of my favorite songs of all time. Who doesn’t secretly want a lover to be a fake plastic tree? ‘If I could be who you wanted all the time’.”

 

Ryan Adams – Call Me On Your Way Back Home

“So tender and so vulnerable. I love Ryan Adams for being so damn good at this. I envy the simplicity in these lyrics: ‘Oh baby why did I treat you like I did? Honey, I was just a kid, bubble gum on my shoe’.

 

Marc Scibilia – Better Man

This is a new artist out of Nashville who I’ve been following for a couple years. Currently one of my favorite songwriters. This song paints that timeless picture of the power a woman has over a man. It’s classic and original.

 

David Ramirez’s third album, Apologies, is now out and available at the US iTunes store.

Last week on The Songwriter Playlists: Cary Brothers

Leave a Reply

