Gadgets / Lifestyle

First impressions: SIMFY Africa

By Wash

Media executives are slowly waking up to the fact that there is more than just sand and dragon poo on this great continent of Africa.  I mean, there’s news that iTunes might be opening up a proper music and movie store to South Africa, and Nokia’s been doing a rip-roaring trade selling music to the poor victims who buy their phones.

But now… things are getting interesting.  We have our own Spotify – SIMFY Africa!

For the heathen among you who don’t know what Spotify is, it’s an online music streaming service that lets you listen to music from a very big catalogue anytime, anywhere, on almost any device.  Just install the app and you have access to, quite literally, hundreds of thousands of songs for a small fee per month.

Spotify isn’t available to us here, but SIMFY hopes to give us a great alternative.

I got given early access to SIMFY to try out for a few weeks before they start charging or it, to give it a bash and hopefully tell other people about it…nice things…

I installed it on my office desktop and also my Motorola RAZR and it runs great on both of these devices.

I tried to install it on my iPad, but, and here’s an irony of ironies, it’s only available in the SA iTunes App Store.  So me with my US store, mesa can’t installza on my iPadza.  Not without depleting my current prepaid balance in the US store, switching back to the SA store, linking my credit card and them downloading the app (at least it’s free).

That aside, I like SIMFY.  It’s easy to use, has a great selection of music (and the selection we’ve been assured is growing).  I’ve found that the sound quality is generally good, but there are one or two albums that I’ve come across that sound like they were recorded in a tunnel.

And although there is an impressive amount of music on SIMFY, there are some mainstream bands that are sorely lacking in content, most notably for me, Metallica and AC/DC.

It doesn’t chew a whole lot of bandwidth either.  You’re looking at about 80 – 100MB of data every hour so if you’re running your iPad/iPhone/Blackberry/Android phone on a WiFi network , it shouldn’t cost you a whole lot.

The question is: “Is SIMFY Africa worth the R70-odd per month they’ll eventually charge worth it?”  I say yes.  Especially if you’re a music enthusiast, and you always like to be surrounded my tjoons…it’s a great way to have access to an enormous music library without having to buy shares in Look & Listen.

And the service can only get better.

Check out http://www.simfy.co.za/start for more.

Welcome to SA SIMFY. I hope you enjoy the stay.  We’re happy to have you here.

 


 

Wash

Wash is our resident uber-geek. He sleeps on a pile of comics, speaks fluent Klingon and spends his weekends unleashing all manner of Hell on the battlefields of his PC. If it’s related to gaming, comics, sci-fi or any other form of geekitude… chances are Wash has his sticky paws all over it.

Leave a Reply

