Music

The Songwriter Playlists: Dan Michaelson

After chatting to us earlier this week on The Songwriter Series, the lovely Dan Michaelson was kind enough to make us a little playlist of what he’s been listening to lately.

Father John Misty

“He’s the drummer from Fleet Foxes… but he’s made a beautiful solo record. I saw an early Fleet Foxes gig when they still let him make jokes from the back. He’s a very funny man. The indie Will Ferrell.”

 

The Flamingos

“An old soul band that I recently got excited by. Im a sucker for this kind of thing, much like The Four Tops, Etta James, Carla Thomas and The Temptations… I could survive on this kind of stuff alone.”

 

Cold Specks

I saw Cold Specks support Josh T Pearson in London earlier this year and she was incredible. I haven’t heard her record yet, but it’s top of my list for things to do as soon as I want to start listening to new records again.”

 

Josh T Pearson

“As well as the above gig, I went to see him play another 3 times this year. A completely captivating man.”

 

John Cage

“I’ve been listening to John Cage for quite some time but there’s a lot of his music to get through, so there are some pieces I’ve only just started listening to. So this counts.”

 

Dan Michaelson is available on Bandcamp and on his official website. Find him on Facebook.

More of The Songwriter Playlists

Leave a Reply

