Movies

Movie review: The Campaign

By Wash

I don’t know about you, but it’s been a while since there was a genuinely funny Will Ferrell movie.

Look, I’ve never been a huge fan of the guy, I mean, he’s had his moments, but I think that not since Anchorman has there been anything really noteworthy with his name stapled to it.

I think The Campaign will change that and it’s thanks to the addition of the comedic genius of Zach Galafianakis.

If there’s one thing that Zach (I’m not typing out his surname again) can do, it’s play the naïve school chess captain (read: bully fodder) with a straight face. He’s bloody funny and I think it was his inclusion in The Campaign that made Ferrell lift his game.

The story in The Campaign isn’t important. It’s fairly average and is probably closer to reality than we care to realise (satire or not), but what is completely evident in this movie – slapstick comedy executed properly never gets old.

I haven’t laughed this hard in a movie since I first saw The Emperor’s New Groove back in 2000.

Look, it’s not going to be everyone’s cup of tea. This movie will be called “stupid” and “irritating” but, well, movies can’t be everything to everyone. I’d say if you like Ferrell, and you thought The Hangover was a good night out, this will be right up your alley.

Should you go watch it?

I say yes.

The Campaign releases in cinemas on 26 October 2012.


Wash

Wash is our resident uber-geek. He sleeps on a pile of comics, speaks fluent Klingon and spends his weekends unleashing all manner of Hell on the battlefields of his PC. If it’s related to gaming, comics, sci-fi or any other form of geekitude… chances are Wash has his sticky paws all over it.

Leave a Reply

