Lifestyle

Mummy and me: Post-pregnancy weight gain and Aishwarya Rai

Let me just come out and say it – self-control was not my friend during my pregnancy. You know how some women always go on about eating right and maintaining your healthy diet throughout pregnancy – yeh, I definitely wasn’t one of those.

Shortly before my pregnancy I’d been on a marathon diet that resulted in a loss of 20kgs and a pants size I’d never seen before. It was great – I felt great, and I know for sure that it wouldn’t have been as easy for me to fall pregnant had I not done it. That being said…being off carbs for six months can do strange things to your willpower.

So, when I found out I was pregnant, all cake broke loose. Word.

eating-cake

You’ll hear most women who’ve been pregnant talk about not falling into the trap of eating whatever you please just because you can. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a firm believer in being as healthy as possible to ensure the best for your unborn child. I know I should have ate more vegetables, more fruit and a lot less cake when I was pregnant.

Truth be told, being pregnant is an eye-opener. I lived the “I’m pregnant so I can” mantra every day. I ate more chocolate than I should have and gained 15kg in the process. Do I wish I’d been more healthy? Of course. Do I regret eating all that chocolate? Not a bit.

At the end of the day, my son was born perfectly healthy. And that’s all that really mattered. The first pregnancy is always a learning curve and having gone through it, I know now that if I ever plan on being pregnant again, I’ll try my best to be as healthy as I can.

So, at the end of it all, it was only me that suffered. 15kg gained – and now I’m slowly working my way up the ladder, trying to regain that ever elusive post pregnancy pants size. It’s tough. More tough than it was before. My willpower has shot to hell and at the end of the day, when I’m sitting in front of the TV enjoying my first quiet moment in 12 hours, a chocolate is all I really want.

Which brings me to my next point – how many of you have actually been pregnant? Excluding those lucky few that never really put on much weight during pregnancy or lose it quite quickly afterwards, if you’ve been pregnant, you’ll know… it’s tough. Extremely tough. Sometimes, on really bad days, you think about saving your maternity pants just in case you always have the dreaded pregnancy tummy. When you see celebrities in skimpy bikinis months after giving birth, you want to punch them right in the face. That’s ok. It’s ok. Celebrities are in general, fairly unnatural human beings. You’ll realize this once you have a baby. Also, unfortunately, I don’t have a personal chef or trainer at my disposal to whip me into tip-top shape. What I’m trying to say is – I don’t really care. Sure, I want to look better, and I’ll work at that – but it’s truly no rush. At the end of the day, I get to go home to my beautiful boy, and that’s all that really matters.

I’ve seen the media frenzy over Bollywood/Hollywood crossover star Aishwarya Rai recently. Did I miss the part where she signed a waiver stating that she must be back in pre-pregnancy shape two months after giving birth? No? Could have had me fooled.

aISH

I’m pretty certain that Aishwarya doesn’t give a crap what people say about her. I’m also pretty certain that she could probably lose all of the pregnancy weight much faster than you or I could. Does that mean she has to? Since when do we dictate what people do with their own bodies? If you’ve ever been pregnant, you’ll understand where she’s coming from and admire her for spending the first few months of her child’s life spending time with her baby rather than at the gym.

If you’re one of those that is appalled by her weight gain – go look in the mirror, chances are, she still looks better than you.


Deanna Campbell

Deanna spends her days buried in a jumble of words and her nights trying to balance family life and everything in between, all while doodling the name Grohl on her notepad and watching reruns of Supernatural. If it’s on TV, she’s seen it. If it’s the latest fad diet… she’s tried it. She’s got a lot to say.

Be warned.

Leave a Reply

